Preparations to put a befitting Library in place for its parent body, the University of Ilorin Library took off in the early part of 1976 with the appointment of Mr. B.A. Oni-Orisan as the University Librarian, and one of the foundation Principal Officers of the University. Therefore, by October 25, 1976, after the Principal's maiden address to the foundation students and staff in the Africa Hall at about 10.00 a.m., the University Library formally commenced its routines and services to clientele.
The primary responsibility of the Library is to select, acquire and organize books, periodicals, documents, newspapers, maps, and other print and electronic resources that are required for teaching, research and self-development activities of the University and its environments. The responsibility for selection of book and non-book information resources is jointly shared primarily with members of the teaching staff. Other categories of staff and students wishing to suggest books, periodicals and other type of Library materials for addition to the collections may do so by completing appropriate slips at the Loan's Desk or through e-mail correspondences to the University Librarian or Acquisitions Librarian or the University Library email i.e. firstname.lastname@example.org
The Library's book, periodical and e-resources collections are developed within the limits set by teaching and research in the academic departments of the existing Faculties, Institute of Education and Center for Peace and Strategic Studies.
The Library provides a wide range of services. Arrangements have been completed to resuscitate inter-library loans and bindery services. Hardware and software facilities are available for consulting audio-visual and e-resources. Detailed instruction in Library use is provided to undergraduates as part of the General Studies programme while advanced bibliographic courses are to be worked out for final year and postgraduate students and staff preparing for their long essays dissertations and research, respectively. All enquiries regarding reader instructions, either on individual basis or in groups should be made to email@example.com or physically see the Readers' Services Librarian.
Information on the contents of the University Library, its arrangement and services it provides will be found in a pamphlet, A Guide to the University of Ilorin Library issued free to Library clientele, even as the softcopy is on the Library Web Page.
The University Library operates 24-hour services few weeks before and during examination periods. The Main Library, Law Library and E-Library provide these services.
Membership of the University Library is open, on completion of registration, to:
Registered Library users can borrow books on the open shelves for use outside the Library, while books in the Reference Section as well as those on the Reserved collection can only be consulted within the Library.
The Library has been made a depository for two copies of all works published in Kwara State, Nigeria under the Kwara State Publications Edict. Such materials are separately organized in the Documents Section as a specified collection for preservation and research purposes.
The Library maintains a special collection of staff publications, Inaugural Lectures and reprints, in both hard and electronic copies on the Institution's Repository (IR).
Gifts of books and cash donation are welcome from individuals, groups and institutions. The Library is particularly interested in private papers of distinguished persons who have made sufficient contributions to the development at local, state or federal level.
The primary purpose of rules, regulations and discipline is to enable all users of the University Library to make the fullest use of the collections. Clientele are reminded that the Library rules, regulations and discipline contained in A Guide to the University of Ilorin Library document have the force of University regulations and discipline.
Copyright © All rights reserved | University of Ilorin. Developed by COMSIT